Oh for the love of those beautiful shadows ….

Hi there my lovelies…it’s Yvette for Little Rad Trio and I am here to talk about shadows. Shadows? Yes! Shadows! I don’t know about you but I am in love with the look of them and the different ways I see layout designers use them. I see deep ones, light ones and ones that look so enticing it seems like the element is about to float off the page. I often look through galleries and try to learn the ways of the shadow….I, myself will try different ways of making my shadows only to feel well, empty. I mean because the elements and or papers look flat and have no depth to them. I think why the heck did I just spend an hour doing this layout it looks horrible? I am very critical of my work as I am sure a lot of us creative types are. So I am searching the web for those techniques that will give us that edge, that certain ‘je ne sais quoi’…that something that will surely get others saying “Wow! I want to know how they did that?”

First you can just do a google search and may come up with one or two items that will tickle your fancy. But I want more so much more, so….

I guess it depends on where you look and how you want the shadowing done. What I mean is do you use Photoshop 5, 6 etc., or do you use Photoshop Elements 10, 11 and so on. Or….are you like me and use Corel Paintshop Pro? I have found very little if any tutorials and or links for Paintshop Pro so this post may not be very helpful for now but I promise I will search the ends of the earth until I find some very interesting and helpful links and such for us Paintshop users.

Another thing to think about when it comes to learning about shadowing is; are you willing to take classes? Are you willing to pay for a program to teach you? Or do you just want an easy and quick tutorial whether it be step by step in written directions or via YouTube? If your like me and have children or a helpless husband then sometimes a simple link is the easiest route. I will of course be giving you more options throughout this post and at the end and you can always message me, drop me an email or smoke signal me a question and or suggestion. I love ideas and may use one in a future post.

I don’t know about you but I looooove Pinterest. I have found very interesting ideas and recipes there. I often sit on my computer in the morning after my boys are off to school and hubby is at work with my HUGE cup of java and pin, PIN, P-I-N!!! I think I may be addicted…hmmm..something to think about….maybe later…oooh coffee cake!! Oh sorry, back to shadows. Anyway, Pinterest is an idea for a lot of us looking to try new techniques. Just put digital scrap shadowing techniques in the search bar or any version of that and WOW!

Here is one from the Daily Digi using PSE:

Top Tips — for great shadows:

1) Keep the direction of light the same.

2) Keep the size proportional for the size of the object

3) The bigger the space between the object and its’ shadow, the lighter the shadow will be (the shadow for a piece of paper placed directly on top of another paper will be darker and less opaque than a button or flowers).

4) Play with the blend mode. Using the color burn mode when applying a shadow to acrylic works best.

Full post HERE

Of course if you think you need a step by step video you can always go to Youtube and enter similar words in the search bar: shadowing digital scrapbooking or the like and get something like this:

HERE

Lastly, you can go the more expensive route and buy programs or scrapping classes. For that you can always use google search or do what I do and ask your fellow layout designers for advice. No reason to shell out your hard earned money for something that isn’t worth the price, especially if you can learn it for free online. No matter what you choose to do shadows are like personalities not everyone is going to like the same thing you do. As long as you put your heart into what you design and as long as you can look at it and it makes you smile from not only the nostalgia of the photo but the whole layout itself then you are doing it right.

About Just Me

SAHM of four and Nana of 3...married to my soul mate for 21 years. I have Lupus and Fibromyalgia just to name a couple of diseases although I have many other problems.
This entry was posted in Little Rad Trio, Scrapbook Layouts, Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

